The Mass Spectrometry Centre (MSC) is a Core Facility at the Faculty of Chemistry of the University of Vienna. It is the faculty’s main point of contact for research problems that can be solved by mass spectrometry. The MSC is run by an experienced team with high expertise and offers analytical services and research support using a broad spectrum of modern mass spectrometers.

The MSC has a wide focus, both technically and thematically. We routinely analyze:

- volatile molecules,
- synthetic organic compounds and metal-organic complexes,
- natural products from microorganisms, plants, and animals,
- synthetic polymers and
- diverse biomolecules & biopolymers.

We are involved in a number of research projects, which are mainly in the areas of bioanalysis and environmental analysis (proteomics, metabolomics), food chemistry and physiological chemistry, as well as biological and medicinal chemistry. In addition, we develop new and improve established methods and workflows.

Members of the faculty can access the services of the MSC in three different ways:

  • For simple service measurements, it is sufficient to submit a sample.
  • We are happy to engage in scientific cooperations to tackle more complex and bigger research projects.
  • Members of experienced research groups can be trained and authorized to use instruments autonomously.

Provided that the capacities can be made available, we are happy to support other departments of the University of Vienna, partners of the Vienna Life Science Instruments (VLSI), national and international academic institutions, as well as SMEs and industry in the way of scientific cooperations and contract analyses.

 Recent Information

27.05.2020
 

Martin Zehl, Leiter des Massenspektrometriezentrums, ist an der neuen Forschungsplattform "Secondary Metabolomes of Bacterial Communities (MetaBac)"...

14.04.2020
 
25.02.2020
 
15.01.2020
 
07.10.2019
 
27.08.2019

Das Massenspektrometriezentrum (MSC) ist eine Core Facility der Fakultät für Chemie der Universität Wien und als solche zentrale Anlaufstelle für massenspektrometrische Fragestellungen an der Fakultät. Das MSC verfügt über ein erfahrenes Team mit hoher Fachexpertise und bietet analytische Dienstleistungen und Forschungssupport mit einem breiten Spektrum moderner Massenspektrometer an.

Das MSC ist technisch und thematisch breit aufgestellt – so analysieren wir routinemäßig

- flüchtige Moleküle,
- synthetische organische Verbindungen und metallorganische Komplexe,
- mikrobielle, pflanzliche und tierische Sekundärmetabolite,
- synthetische Polymere und
- verschiedenste Biomoleküle & Biopolymere.

Wir sind auch in eine Reihe von Forschungsprojekten involviert, die vorrangig in die Bereiche Bio- und Umweltanalytik (Proteomics, Metabolomics), Lebensmittelchemie und Physiologische Chemie, sowie Biologische und Medizinische Chemie fallen. Darüber hinaus arbeiten wir an der Entwicklung neuer und an der Verbesserung bestehender Methoden.

Angehörige der Fakultät können die Leistungen des MSC auf drei verschiedene Arten in Anspruch nehmen:

  • Für einfache Servicemessungen genügt es die Proben einzureichen.
  • Für komplexere Fragestellungen und größere Projekte stehen wir gerne für wissenschftliche Kooperationen zur Verfügung.
  • MitarbeiterInnen erfahrener Arbeitsgruppen können nach Einschulung und Freigabe Instrumente selbständig nutzen.

Sofern es die Auslastung zulässt, unterstützen wir auch gerne andere Departments der Universität Wien, Beteiligte an den Vienna Life Science Instruments (VLSI), in- und ausländische akademische Einrichtungen, sowie Wirtschaft und Industrie im Rahmen wissenschaftlicher Kooperationen und Auftragsanalytik.